Cold-Oven Pound Cake

by Shelley

Cold-Oven Pound Cake

Cold-Oven Pound Cake

 

A very short post to tell you about a very easy-to-make cake…a cold-oven pound cake.

The recipe is from Cook’s Country and well worth the try.

With six eggs and two and a half sticks of butter, this cake is not shy about being rich; however, it cooks up high in an angel food pan and is very light…with a particularly tender crumb.

But the craziest part of this little recipe is that you put the pan of batter into a completely stone-cold oven and THEN set the temp. I’ve never NOT preheated an oven in my life to bake a cake; but when Cook’s Country tells me to do something…I do it!

The reason for the cold oven is that the cake will use the preheat time to begin rising…and since it bakes from 68 to 80 minutes…it has plenty of time to rise and rise…and RISE!

I will say, I should have checked the cake at an hour…instead of letting it stay in the the full 80 minutes without checking. I think it would have been a tad more moist, had I pulled it out a little earlier. But, regardless, this little cake is fluffy and light and just sweet enough to be a nice little treat with a cup of hot tea.

Yum!